One night at a time

November 13, 2009 at 13:25 Leave a comment

One night at a time by Susan Hill

As a child ‘One Night at a Time’ by Susan Hill, illustrated by Vanessa Julian-Ottie was one of my two favourite books. My Mum would read it to me and shoo bad dreams out of the window. Even now my original copy of this book lives by my bed. I love the story, and I adore the illustrations. I love Tom’s little suitcase, I love the way the household items he sees as monsters are scary yet not too scary. I can trace my love of red things back to this book as I dreamed of having a toadstool light just like Tom’s, and I can’t play MarioKart unless I’m Toad! It’s not a shock that one of my first applique designs was a classic toadstool.

 

toadstools

Entry filed under: Favourite things. Tags: , , , , , .

Colour Colour Colour Introducing

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed





Categories


Feeds


